wind/solar

Discussion in 'Start here' started by larry george, Aug 6, 2011.

1. hi yall im the the newbe. i have 180watts of solar 450ah battery bank and no controler yet, plan to buy wind turbin need to know if c60 will control both wind /solar at the same time.

2. rey

rey WindyNation Engineer

Hi I'm a new member and this is my first time chatting with you. I have a question. I build a 500w solar panel and it is working great. I installed its own 30a power controler from morningstar, (prostar-30), 2000w inverter and a battery bank connected in parallel (5 batteries 115 amp/hr ea.). In a sunny day I connect two refrigerators for a least 7 hr or one 24 hrs a day. I bought a wind generator, I installed it and I conected to the same battery bank with its own charge controller in order to have some energy during the night and have more electrical thing to connect. My question is do you think that it was a good idea to use the same battery bank and what complication do I'm going to see with the charge controllers. Note: the solar panel system work great with its own charge controller and the wind generator I just connected but I haven't experience a good wind to see the reactions. please advice. (pma m12 from presto wind)

3. windyguru

windyguru WindyNation Expert

The Xantrex controllers we sell will work with wind and solar simultaneously in "diversion mode". The Xantrex Instruction Manual which comes with the controller, has very good instructions on how to do this. The Xantrex C60 will be more than adequate to handle 180 Watts of solar and a fairly large (~1000 Watt or a 9 foot diameter) wind turbine.

4. windyguru

windyguru WindyNation Expert