Turbine to hot water heating element

Discussion in 'Start here' started by logic+wisdom+nature, Dec 9, 2010.

1. logic+wisdom+nature

logic+wisdom+nature WindyNation Engineer

Hello I am a new member.

I am also relatively new to the Wind and solar community . So be easy on me if you will.

My question for all of you experts. Can I connect my 500 watt wind turbine directly to my 24 volt heating element in my pre- heated hot water tank ? or do I have to have a controller, battery , or grid tie inverter ?
    I want to be as direct as possible for obvious reasons.

please give me your formulas and or ideas.
    Thanks a bunch , James :D

2. Minnesota

Minnesota WindyNation Engineer

It is not usually possible to connect a 12 or 24 Volt water heating element directly to the output from a wind turbine. The voltages generated by a 12/24 Volt wind turbine are typically far in excess of the nominal Voltage rating - with values of over 50 Volts often recorded in heavy winds. These high voltages would rapidly burn out the heating element when you need it most. A 12 Volt heating element should be used with just 12-15 Volts, a 24V heating element with just 24-30 Volts.

In order to prevent the heating element from receiving fluctuating over-voltages a small battery bank can be used as a buffer between the wind turbine output and the heating element. A pair of 12V motorcycle battery is perfect for this task (for 24V immersion elements) - no more powerful than 4 amp hours / 50 cold cranking amps per battery, and they should be lead-acid batteries which can be refilled with water. A sealed gel types or dry cells should not be used.