Nose cone

Discussion in 'General Questions' started by murray2paddles, Dec 8, 2010.

1. murray2paddles

murray2paddles WindyNation Engineer

In spare time I would like to experiment with making a nose cone for my Windy 500 & 750
    Does anyone have info on how to do an easy / safe attachment to the hub ?
    If so, please share info, attach photos. or caveman drawings :lol:

I will make a mold and lay them up out of fiberglass / carbon .

2. timber

timber WindyNation Engineer

Hi Murray,

Can you incorporate 3 or 5 (depending on # blades) pieces of plumber's tape (metal strap w/ holes) into the mold to attach to one or two existing blade attachment bolts per blade?

Just a thought.

Dave

3. Minnesota

Minnesota WindyNation Engineer

Love the idea. I think it would really help the 500/750 look more cleaned up and it could be a good selling accessory. All the pro systems have them.

I'm a pilot and I'd be tempted to use a small aricraft nosecone to make a mold from. I'll dig around to try to find one that could be a good candidate. You likely could borrow one and then return it as they are a bit pricey.

Minnesota

4. timber

Another attachment method would be to have structural support within the shape to solidly hold a hub nut.
    Some blue loctite 242 would allow later removal but insure that it would stay in place until such time.

I think this would be the preferred method of attachment if there is enough thread left protruding on the hub thread after the blade is attached.

Dave

5. murray2paddles

Minnesota, sounds good, I will look at dropping one of my towers to measure the space on the hub face after blades are mounted. I have spare hubs I can use after that for fitting. Haven't decided to make a plaster mold or a fiberglass one. Want to end up using a female mold and should not have to vacuum bag, just do a wet lay up.

Dave, when you mentioned the thread available after the blade is attached , can you clarify which threads !