Keeping turbine into the wind

Discussion in 'General Questions' started by rake1, Apr 27, 2011.

1. rake1

rake1 WindyNation Engineer

Any way to keep my turbine into the wind? it has a 10X10 blade welded on the top half of the tail section .My problem is to many trees that I cannot cut down,and causing the wind to swirel around, in turn causing the turbine to move in an out of the direct wind.

2. DonMcJr

DonMcJr WindyNation Engineer

I'm new to wind generators, just built my first but my answer is to get the windmill higher and maybe a larger tail...

3. rake1

It is already 40 ft going higher is not an option.

4. DonMcJr

Then I think there probably isn't much else you can do...

5. bluejay

bluejay WindyNation Engineer

A larger tail will keep it tracking more true but I hope it can furl if needed. :eek:

6. NEOH

NEOH WindyNation Engineer

Turbulent wind is low power wind. There are three solutions ...

1) Cut down the trees (remove the obstacle causing the turbulence)
    2) Raise the Wind Turbine above the turbulence
    3) Install Solar Panels

Here is a drawing showing how to properly position a Wind Turbine behind an obstruction:
    http://www.house-energy.com/Wind/Location.htm

"...You should site your turbine not only in a high-wind area, but also far enough from buildings, treetops, fences, etc. Find a good clearing, and put the wind turbine on a sufficiently tall tower. The height of a small turbine tower is an important element to consider and should have taken into account the height of the surrounding obstructions! The height of the tower should place the bottom of the turbine blades at least 30 feet ABOVE the top of any obstacle within 300 feet of the tower ..."

7. rake1