Electric bill VS size for system

Discussion in 'Start here' started by Billy Stevens, Jan 24, 2012.

1. Okay Folks I'm new at this stuff and would like to see a couple electric bills that show savings and please supply the size and type system {wind or solar} you are running. I see a lot of videos showing watts and volts and electronic meters spitting out large numbers, but not once have I seen a new electric bill vs an old electric bill and how much per amp or watts returned back to the grid has saved you. At .10 per kwh it should be easy to calculate. I'm not complaining because I love this stuff and have just bought a windtura 750 and just would like to know it anybody is saving much on their electric bill.

2. TomT

TomT WindyNation Engineer

I have a Effsun 300 and 600 watt turbine and 240 watts of solar.
    I average between 15-20 KWH per month so far. My average usage is 150 KWH per month is at 17 cents per KWH.
    So far not much savings. Of course I live in a low wind area and my solar is fixed and has some shading during the day. Solar should improve when I can put it up on the roof.

3. leamywind1

leamywind1 WindyNation Engineer

Hello Billy,
    First welcome. That is a great question. I save about 30% with wind and solar combined. No wind turbine by itself in the 1kw class is going to do much at all in my opinion. That is a fact for me. Most do it for fun/hobby. The turbines that do make a dent in someone's electric bill are 3-5kw turbines and up or a wind farm of 1kw's and there are no postings for 3-5kw turbines on this forum as far as i know.
    This is speaking of grid tie only.