1st time here

Discussion in 'Post Your Photos' started by SL Mauk, Jun 18, 2011.

1. Just a note to say hi and that I find the site very interesting. I have been chasing home-built wind generators for quite a few years. Years ago I had built several with auto components. Some of them Almost worked, but then I started with the 3 phase, PM type. I have a small cabin with a gen that has been up for about 5 years with very little problems, and last fall put up a larger unit on my home with a grid- tie inverter, and a battery system. The system on my home has gave me a fair amount of trouble, but it has been on a learning curve. I am attatching a pic of the cabin gen. And yes, I know that it is too close to the trees, but thats the only spot I had. Hoping to have time to get on here often.
    Sam 001.JPG 001.JPG

2. Andy R.

Andy R. WindyNation Engineer

Welcome! Please hang around.

Here's a photo of my cabin with my 1st "off grid" energy project in 1991. Notice the small solar cell on the roof. It runs a CB radio powered by a typical 12 volt car battery. Battery had a 5 year warrente but went 13 years before needing replacement. Yeah I babyed it. Solar cell went 17 years.

[​IMG]

The CB radio.

[​IMG]

3. murray2paddles

murray2paddles WindyNation Engineer

Welcome Sam. Great photos guys , thanks.

Sam, what are the issues for your home system ?